Hi guys!

Just when you thought I wasn’t in school at all, but spent all my time hanging laundry, hiking and serving up community meals. Ha!  Let my sustained silence be proof that I have been spending my days reading books and writing reviews for my three amazing classes.  

I’d like to recommend a book that I read for my Intercultural Attachment class.  I’m getting to study attachment theory!!  It’s all about how we relate and connect with one another.  My social services background, besides my natural inclination towards the topic, makes this class extra enriching and so interesting.  How we relate to people, especially those of differing cultural backgrounds, can either narrow or broaden our ability to care for people well.  Love it!

So here’s the book to read: Why You Do the Things You Do, by Dr. Tim Clinton and Dr. Gary Sibcy

I found this to be an effective book for self-evaluation.  It includes pointers for how to recognize and break out of negative relational styles and thinking.  (And no, it does not include looking in the mirror and affirming yourself as  a helpful solution.)  It’s super accessible reading and an especially pertinent book for new parents.

And here’s a quote from a book for my Biblical Foundations of Mission class taught by Chuck Van Engen. This class is off the hook!  Superb intro class.  I’m picking up what Van Engen is putting down.

“The Creation account is of such universal significance that one is pressed to conclude that it is the inalienable right of all people to know the God whose image they bear.”  Arthur F. Glasser, Announcing the Kingdom

That’s it for now.  I’ve got to hit the sack.  Prayer retreat in the morning in the L.A. Arboretum (yes, I’m reveling in relaying this detail) and then some serious focus time at the library.

