I was feeling a  bit inspired to share after reading and looking at Rae’s pictures of a Banyan tree in India.   I’ve been cooing over Magnolias and Alders of late.  And of course I get excited over the misplaced Redwoods that are scattered about.  I’m lucky enough to have a friend who likes to point them out.  

The Redwoods I’ve been finding here and there: grouped on a rolling manicured lawn, looking properly mopey and fantastical on a busy street corner, and suddenly appearing in someone’s yard.  

The Alders were winding there way up a creek bed to an accessibly beautiful waterfall.  The bases of their trunks revealed the high water levels of the creek with gashes and bald spots and sponge like dampness.  Rock jumping across the creek among the brilliantly white Alder trunks… I’d like to take you all there.  How do those bean-poles of trees stand so tall and so ridiculously thin?  

And then the Magnolias. They are in bloom here right now.  I’ve been taking close up shots of their flowers.  I see them as lotus blossoms floating in the air, or huge flower arrangements placed along the edges of city streets.  Here’s a bit to enjoy.  

I caught this one mid dance I think.

I caught this one mid dance I think.

 

I almost want to bight it or spread it on my toast.

I almost want to bight it or spread it on my toast.

 Creation makes me giddy.  The Old English origin for “giddy” means ‘possessed by a god.’  Capitalize the ‘G’, and I think that’s about absolutely how I feel.

