http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vl8DEwRZUK0

Strumming my pain with his fingers
Singing my life with his words

Zowy!  My Church in Mission class opened with Bolger (the prof) giving us a bit of background on his life story that led  him to teaching this class.  I was way into it.  Bolger’s bio was relevant to the subject matter that we will be studying, and his use of narrative to introduce the course seemed particularly telling of an Emergent church value for story and self-disclosure.

Bolger talked about Vineyard, church planting, emergent church, Dan Kimball, faith in the Bay in Area, localized expressions of faith, the morphing of the church with the rapid changing of the culture, modern and postmodern world views, artistic expressions of faith and clubbers, New Age ministries, exploring worship, disenchantment with the church, house churches, community, justice, relationships… and ended with some comments about the Presbyterian church where he now fellowships.  I pretty much just nodded and wondered how he knew my life experience so well.

Telling my whole life with his words                                                                                                                                     Killing me softly with his lecture

